Share This Page:

what should i expect?

General discussions on joining & training in the British Army.
kizzer182

what should i expect?

Post by kizzer182 »

Firstly I applied for the Raf regiment and when I had my interviews the knowledge I had to know was quite detailed, I could still sit that interview and name all the regiments ware there all based I could name the joining process and I could tell you what happens each week on the basic training.

But that's not what I'm going to do any more. I have attended PGSC (pre gunner section course) and I wasn't selected. I'm 24 next month and I can't keep having set backs I want a family ect in the future. So... iv just sent my application off for the army I would like a trade so have put royal logistics core or royal signals as my preferred regiments to join.

I'm just a little worried as I may have been a bit hasty in sending this application off. I have no knowledge off what I.need to know on.the interviews and BARB test. I done.the practice tests and.was hitting 80-100% on them except the technical test,

Can some one guide me in the right direction as what I need to know ect, I have no doubt in my mind that ill fail the fitness test, i run a 3 mile in 20mins and train 4-5 times a week.

Thanks Kieran
Millar

Re: what should i expect?

Post by Millar »

Hi firstly don't worry about your current knowledge of the Army at this present stage as if all you have done thus far is sign up on the website or filled an application form out, they won't expect you to know anything, anyway here is a list of how the joining up process went for me:

Phone call inviting me down for an informal Interview 1
Presentation
BARB Testing
Basic Skills Testing
Job Selection
Insight Course (week away with Army to see what life is like as a soldier)
IDSC (Initial 1 day selection testing to see if your ready for ADSC and to give you an idea what to expect)
Formal Interview 2
ADSC
Formal Interview 3
Phone call with Basic Training Start Date