Share This Page:

Thinking about joining the RAF or the RN as a pilot HELP

General Military Chat. New to the forums? Introduce yourself, Who are you and where are you from?
Undecided.

Thinking about joining the RAF or the RN as a pilot HELP

Post by Undecided. »

OK so i have been thinking about joining the RAF or the Royal Navy as a helicopter pilot, i have all the requirements i have 20/20 vision i'm very fit and i'm doing my IGCSE's and then A levels. I'm doing IGCSE's because i'm home educated.

I'm 15
What i want to know is if i am a helicopter pilot what would i do in the event of War. Would i have to fly helicopter gun ships or would i fly troops in and out of the battle field. Is it optional ?? do i HAVE to go to war or could i do other jobs involving flying I would rather be a search and search and rescue pilot but they only accept former military pilots.

Which should i join, i would like to join the royal navy because i would be on a boat traveling and that sounds great.

What i want to know is should i join the RN or the RAF, do i have to go to war, is flying gun ships or transport helicopters optional and any other information would be really great.
sportbilly42

Re: Thinking about joining the RAF or the RN as a pilot HELP

Post by sportbilly42 »

Undecided. wrote:OK so i have been thinking about joining the RAF or the Royal Navy as a helicopter pilot, i have all the requirements i have 20/20 vision i'm very fit and i'm doing my IGCSE's and then A levels. I'm doing IGCSE's because i'm home educated.
Firstly you don't have to be very fit to be a chopper pilot... Prince Andrew was one ffs and he'd never seen the inside of the gym at Windsor Castle... (He was a qualified chopper though...)

Undecided. wrote:Would i have to fly helicopter gun ships or would i fly troops in and out of the battle field. Is it optional ??