Share This Page:

Joining the paras?

General discussions on joining & training in The Parachute Regiment.
Ash21

Joining the paras?

Post by Ash21 »

Hi, i've been training myself for a couple of months now for a military career, i've gotten myself to a level of fitness where i wont have to worry about the entry fitness test thing for the regular army (sorry about the vagueness, acronyms are lost on me at the moment) however, i've had my sights set on being a para since i was small being told war stories by ex-military relatives. Now i'm aware that the army and the para's are not seperate forces and should command equal respect but the army just won't do it for me (it's a pride/motivational thing) You may be wondering what i'm trying to ask at this point but i wanted to reassure you that i'm not just some wannabe wasting your time or trying to rub any of you the wrong way (or any other way for that matter.) regardless i will be starting the application process as soon as my birthday's passed in april (last big blowout before my life changes drastically :P) Basically i've been hearing that the paras have been effectively absorbed by the other forces, is there any truth to this? If so are they still hiring? And are the entry requirements the same as the army? I'd expect it to be slightly more intense than the regular entry requirements but admittedly i know sweet f@#k all about these sorts of things. I have googled and searched these forums but a lot of the information could easily be out of date or supplied by "walts" as i've seen described in other posts on this site. So sorry if this has been accurately answered before but i'm after genuine up to date knowledge from people in the know, that and i'd like a clearer idea of what i'm going to discuss with the recruitment officer when it comes to my appointment. Any answers/advice would be much appreciated.
Hope for the best, plan for the worst. Either way just bloody get on with it!
Ash21

Re: Joining the paras?