Share This Page:

PARA Fitness Tips

General discussions on joining & training in The Parachute Regiment.
scotjock1

PARA Fitness Tips

Post by scotjock1 »

Right well I am new to all this; basically I want to join the Parachute Regiment. I have just passed my BARB and am being held at my medical stage because I am a stone overweight. I was able to run 3 miles a few months back in less than 22 minutes, roughly about 21 and a half minutes.
Anyway I was fit a few months back, but since the backlog in the application for the Paras I have let myself go. I have begun to run 1.5 mile runs and can only really jog and guessing my time for it would probably be about 15 minutes or more.

Basically I am asking for any tips, on how to get my run times better under 9.18 mins and stuff. I would really appreciate it, and as for my press ups and sit ups i can do over 50 in two minutes.

B.A.R.B Test: Passed
Written Medical: Still to be done.
egghead

Post by egghead »

run run and run more its only way run up hills walk down them do that do fartlek training , long runs just do the lot on different days and it will come down sooner or later just keep at it
Leyton1990

Post by Leyton1990 »

Yeah mate just try to motivate yourself, If you not doing anything.....just jog.
scotjock1

Better

Post by scotjock1 »

OK since my last post its been slow over xmas, however back at a local army run club my run time for the 1.5 miles is now 11 minutes and 44 seconds abit better than my last however at one time I could do it in 11 mins and 40 seconds.
Press ups I can do still about 50 in two mins, but its getting better. Sit ups with someone holding my feet down is 30 in one min, so maybe 50 or 60 in two.

I go for regular runs, ranging from 1.5 miles to over 2 miles runs.