Share This Page:

Aircraft Controller

Discussions on joining & training in the Royal Navy.
James90

Aircraft Controller

Post by James90 »

Hi,

Im trying to hunt down as much info on Aircraft Controller's as possible but with little success. I plan on applying next month but have a few questions that I can't find answers to.

Firstly where do aircraft controllers fit into things? As far as i can tell their involved within the planning of flights and controlling aircraft on departure and arrival but i would of thought ATC officers would of done ALL of the controlling? Does anyone know the workload differences between ATC officers and aircraft controllers?

Secondly I know AC's have the go through FATs at Cranwell, is this all of the tests that pilots and observers have to go through? or is it only certain ones? And i assume there isn't the interviews at cranwell like OASC?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!

James
Hallsy

Post by Hallsy »

now i cant say im an expert when it comes to the AC branch but i shall tell you what i can.

AC aircraft controller you will be trained as a tactical AC where as a ATC is not tactically trained i think.

The AC onboard my ship was the only one onboard the frigate, he worked directly under the flight commander. He was often in the shack on the computer sorting out flying briefs and mapping different things on charts, i presume vectors and stuff like that. he was the controller for a lynx. he was the guy who actually did control the ship and offered the command team (captain) the link between the ship and aircraft. he was the rank of leading hand.

when it was tactical flying i think he was often involved in torpedo stuff thats me just listening in though.

when not flying he was also whats known as the flight deck buffer, he was incharge of looking after the maintenance of the flight deck, he would often help the flight out in the hanger with general cleaning of the hangar an aircraft.