Share This Page:

RN NURSE to RM?

Discussions on joining & training in the Royal Navy.
DMSDAYDEXTER

RN NURSE to RM?

Post by DMSDAYDEXTER »

I'm a qualified nurse seriously thinking about joining the Navy. My question is do nurses serve with the RM forward field hospital (sorry I don't know the technical term for this & yes I'm a bloke!!) and if so do they need to pass the AACC? I'd be grateful for any info, I've searched the forum and all I can find info about is MA's and Dr's in RM. This is my first post on the forum although I've been visiting for a couple of years. Great Site!

Regards

DD
Doc

Post by Doc »

RN Nurses serve in a Hospital or large RN sickbay such as at HMS Nelson or Drake. They can volunteer for service with the Field Hospitals and within each area there are Surgical Teams. If Medical Squadron of the Commando Logistics Regiment deploy then the surgical teams go with it.
These teams are not based with the RM but do complete 2 weeks field training per year at Cdo Logs. Nurses do not serve full time with the RM as MA's and Dr's do. There is no requirement to do the commando course.

You may also find yourself serving afloat on a hospital ship in support of amphibious operations.

Cdo Logs Med Sqn is made up of RN medics, RN Doctors, RM, and the odd RAMC.

In my day RNH Plymouth and RNH Haslar had surgical teams in reserve to deploy with the squadron ( i think it is now the Military section at Derriford and Drake, and the Royal Hospital Haslar that now supply these teams. Plus RN Reserve people.

RM Band also deploy with Cdo Logs as stretcher bearers.

I think CTC has a nurse or two but not sure if they are commando trained..I doubt it.

Doc
DMSDAYDEXTER

Post by DMSDAYDEXTER »

Not what I wanted to hear, although thanks for your advice, I'd rather hoped to do the AACC and get covered in mud and do the 30 miler as I can't think of anything more boring that spending 5 years in another succession of hospital environments.

Regards

DD