Share This Page:

T.A Infantry as an Officer.

Discussions about the Territorial Army.
Scott_Allen

T.A Infantry as an Officer.

Post by Scott_Allen »

Hey guys.

I am currently studying for my A-Levels. I am studying Business Studies, ICT and Sociology.

I managed to get 4 A's, 2 B' and 5 C's at GCSE.

I want to join the 3rd Battalion Royal Anglian Regiment unit that is close to where I live, and I have a question.

With my current qualifications could I join the unit as an officer?

I am 17 years old, 18 in July.

I am joining the TA with the view to complete my TA training before joining the regulars as I wish to take some time out after my A-Levels to travel a bit, see a bit of the world and really make sure I am one, fit enough, and two if the Army is really what I want.

One more thing. What is the general practise for transferring out of the TA into the regulars? I do have the abmition to join the regulars as an officer.

Thanks.
RA_Tom

Post by RA_Tom »

Hello,

If you express an interest in a commision on joining then someone will chat to you about it, depends on you, what vacancies there are for officers etc. You can join as a TAPO - TA potential officer and will be required to shine and show leadership during recruit training which is done with the other recruits.

You'll get the full briefing on this if you express an interest on initial enquiry and a dvd to watch etc.

My personal opinion is go through recruit training and CMSR then enquire about it afterwards. Especially if you want to join the regs, good opportunity to empathise with the toms and understand what makes a good officer by formulating your own opinions as a tom.

If you tell your TA unit that you want to join as an officer and then join the regs it may be seen as a waste of time sending you down the TA commission route.