Share This Page:

Homosexuality in the military - Opinions or experiences

Interested or active in politics, discuss here.
LisaG

Homosexuality in the military - Opinions or experiences

Post by LisaG »

Hello, my name is Lisa and I am currently studying health and social care at Newbury College. As part of our course we need to complete a research project on a health or social care based topic of our choice.
My research question is “What are army members’ attitudes or experiences regarding homosexuality in the military?” I chose this topic because I come from a military family and I am hoping to join the QARANC’s.
I would be very grateful if anyone would like to help me by sharing any experiences or feelings, positive or negative. All names will remain confidential.
MSI64

Post by MSI64 »

Lisa its going to be a very short paper.

The answer is no one cares what your sexuality is, its all about whether you can do the job or not.

If you dont wander around proclaiming your different then no one is going to blink an eye

Simple as that
Courage which goes against military expediency is stupidity, or, if it is insisted upon by a commander, irresponsibility."

"So long as one isn't carrying one's head under one's arm, things aren't too bad."

Erwin Rommel (Desert Fox)
Tab

Post by Tab »

When I was in the forces I never met any, any way we were to busy on active service for any silly recreational pursuits
MSI64

Post by MSI64 »

Danielchristopherlee wrote:I recall that pompous Infantry officer who'd served in the Balkans and then appeared on the telly afterwards. I don't recall his name. But I do recall an interview on the telly where he was asked about the subject.

Oh ! while I think about it, I think his name was James Stewart ! A Colonel.....is that right ? I hope I'm not wrong about that !

He said he had two soldiers under his command who were openly gay and the attitude of the other soldiers were that they wantd to, I quote, "Fundamentally lynch them !"