Share This Page:

Advice needed please!!!!

"Be The Best" Discussions about the British Army.
bloodykids

Advice needed please!!!!

Post by bloodykids »

My 16 year old son is interested in joining the Royal Engineers after going to College / Uni - looking at Officer entry.

He is considering applying to Welbeck or the 6th form Scholarship scheme.

He is intelligent, sporty and has a lot going for him.
However, he also has both ears pierced and wears two diamond studs a lot of the time (including for school). Can somebody please give me advice as to whether I need to tell him that he is making a rod for his own back.

If he was to go to selection and it was obvious he wore them would it count against him?

Any advice would be most appreciated - I will get him to read whatever advice is given.

Thanks
dereck

Post by dereck »

hi read your message with interest. I was an instructor at the Guards Depot and on many occassions recruits (not officer candidates) disembarked from the train wearing piercings a short sharp introduction to the foul mouth of the Sergeant Major certainly enligtened the recruit regarding his attire. needless to say he never entered the Depot wearing the piercings

As an Officer Candidate I would certainly ensure all piercings are removed prior to entering the Army Careers office as Officers (ruperts) are assessed in relation to their attire and presentation.

Keep us informed
Alfa

Post by Alfa »

Definitely tell him to get rid of them before he joins up there's nothing worse than a man with ear rings.

Although having said that, lads with piercings can be of some use at times.........the first time I went to Catterick I was standing outside my Section Commanders office waiting to be called in when one of the other Corporals came along and spotted me standing there in a little world of my own, the response was to the point "what the f@#k are you doing standing there Joe??!!"