Share This Page:

Civvy careers of reservists....

General discussions on joining & training in the Royal Marines Reserve.
southerncomfort

Civvy careers of reservists....

Post by southerncomfort »

Greetings,
I'm just wondering about the civvy careers of reservists and how their employer reacted to them joining, or if you had any problems getting a job when already enlisted given the time commitments required by the RMR especially if deployed. I'm an assistant manager of a pub and I've been offered a promotion to run my own pub, I mentioned breifly when I started that I wanted to join the RMR but as my fitness is poor I haven't explained to them the full details until I'm fit enough to go for it. Obviously a pub requires me to to work weekends but I'm hoping to rota myself off once a month. Any advice or experiences on how others handled and their employer reacted would be appreciated.

Cheers
jm745

Post by jm745 »

Think they would have a problem with that mate? I can't help much as I'm still at college but I'm hoping to join RMR in September, same time I'm hoping to start ambulance technician training, dunno how/if they'll take that. So ye, as southerncomfort said; any advice on how others handled their employer?

Joe
just_me

Post by just_me »

All I know it that for the TA you can't get fired for being in the TA. I'm guessing there's a similar deal for Naval Reserves.
alfao

Post by alfao »

jm745 wrote:Think they would have a problem with that mate? I can't help much as I'm still at college but I'm hoping to join RMR in September, same time I'm hoping to start ambulance technician training, dunno how/if they'll take that. So ye, as southerncomfort said; any advice on how others handled their employer?

Joe
My wife is an ambulance technician so I would just say that don't underestimate how busy you will be. Your initial training will be hard work and need a lot of revision on evenings and w/e.