Share This Page:

summer time!

General discussions on joining & training in The Parachute Regiment.
the skeavster

summer time!

Post by the skeavster »

Now that its getting very hot, should I start running very early, sunrise sort of time, or is there another way to keep cool? Should i be used to running in the boiling hot, or is that just asking for trouble?

Cheers

Mark
that's your favourite!
Sarastro

Post by Sarastro »

the skeavster

Post by the skeavster »

Oh so there is, cheers very much Sarastro
8)
Mark
that's your favourite!
4of10

Post by 4of10 »

I do this every time! :evil: I visit this forum for a quick glance and end up spending hours here! I've got DIY tasks to get on with...

Sorry.

I'm no expert but...

Personally, I prefer to run early. Cooler and, once done, it's out of the way.

On hot days such as these, I sweat about 1 pint per mile.

Advice: if running, say, 2 miles, get at least 2 pints down your throat first. Do this gradually over the preceding hours and replenish liquid lost through urination. You want as much as you can comfortably hold. Obviously, you don't want a heavy belly so don't overdo it and try not to over-drink just before going out.

Avoid fatty and overly salty foods in the preceding hours.

At some stage, you'll need to run in heat. Just be careful, you won't want to screw-up and need assistance. :oops:

You might want to buy "Dioralyte" from the chemist. Replenishes lost body salts. Used for heat exhaustion cases. Kept in your first aid kit. Also, it might be good to keep a sachet in your brew kit.

Blackcurrant flavour definitely better than lemon... :D