Share This Page:

I'm bored of my training program

General discussions on joining & training in the Royal Marines.
Bees

I'm bored of my training program

Post by Bees »

Anyone doin any goodn's?

at the moment I run 3 times a week. a 6 mile steady jog, 3 mile interval training, 2 mile best effort.

circuits 4 times a week
Squats, sit ups, press ups, lunges, alternating squat thrust, geckos, burpees, plank, close grip press up.

1st 30sec, second 45sec, 3rd 1min, 4th 45sec
timex

Re: I'm bored of my training program

Post by timex »

Try a bit of variation, its not some sort of dogmatic programme. Try running about 4 mile stopping every half mile doing 10 mins of sit ups etc etc. can you go off road and do some x-country? Have you got a bike, can you go swimming?

Keep doing the work it will pay off but try to keep it interesting!
daz89

Re: I'm bored of my training program

Post by daz89 »

Your programme looks quite good I done something similar when I started training.. If your running’s up to a good standard I would suggest taking up boxing. I did this and it really boosted my cardio. It’s a different kind of stamina lasting 12 rounds of boxing lol!

The boxing circuits are pretty good as well, I incorporated them into my own ones like this:

Warm up

Skip 3 mins..

You then have 1 minute to do the following circuit before skipping again:

20 press ups
10 press ups
10 burpee jumps
15 sit ups

repeat 3 times with 1 minute in between skipping, this is when you do the excercises.. The quicker you get them done the more time you get before you have to start skipping again!

have a drink and stretch then move straight onto this, try not to take to long though.

Circuit

skip 3 mins

You get 4 minutes to complete this before skipping again:

20 press ups
20 burpees
40 incline sit ups
20 squats
20 leg raises