Share This Page:

POC 13th October

General discussions on joining & training in the Royal Marines.
Flash Jordan

POC 13th October

Post by Flash Jordan »

Hello guys, im new to MFAT and just want to start by wishing all those currently in the process of becoming a Royal Marine, or in fact joining any of the armed forces the best of luck. Right then, back on topic, Im currently in the application process of becoming a Royal Marines Officer and am awaiting (rather apprehensively) my POC on the 13th October. I was just wanting to know any tips from anyone that has just recently been on a POC within the last few months or so. I would also like to hear from anyone else attending this POC, just to get to know them a bit better before we eventually meet at CTC.
Lastly I have a few questions about the POC:
. Are the press-up, sit-up and pull-up tests done to a bleep recording or 2 mins best effort?
. How is the 3 mile run back to CTC conducted after the endurance course? Is it ran at an 8 min/mil pace and then sped up towards the end, or is it ran as 1.5 miles as a troop and then 1.5 best effort?

Thankyou in advance,

Flash (Ahah ) :P
RMR_Nod

Post by RMR_Nod »

Good choice :)

Press ups: 2 mins, best effort, no bleeps. You can rest in the 'up' position, but if/when you put your knees down, it's over.

Sit ups: 2 mins, best effort, no bleeps.

Pull ups: No time limit. You and another candidate will grasp the bar and go up and down to the commands of the PTI until you do 16, or can't do any more, you will then be told to drop off.

3 miler: You were right the first time. The 1.5 mile squadded, 1.5 mile best effort is the routine at PRMC, not at POC.

Best of luck - smash it! How's the phys going?
Flash Jordan

Post by Flash Jordan »