Share This Page:

Sorry, had to get this off my chest

General discussions on joining & training in the Royal Marines.
nufc_rulz

Post by nufc_rulz »

I can sort of see where youre coming from but you also have to look at it from there side. For some people its unlikely if they do any physical exercise in a month. For people like us that strive for the challenge and train hard....3 miles is nothing. But for people like them going out there and running for CHARITY not for their own cause is a big acheivement for them.
chris5818

Post by chris5818 »

I see where you coming from 3 miles doesn't sound a lot and in fact it isn't to someone who trains, but believe me a large majority of people in this country would struggle to jog one mile! let alone 3!!, before i started training i used to think 1 mile was nothing until i actually tried it, don't even think i actually did it?? :lol:, to think he actually did it in 45 mins suggests to me he must have put a lot of effort and hard work in!

One day soon i hope i can do a 15 minute mile.

Give him credit though if it was for charity, fair play to him

You should have run next to him for the laugh and got some tips :lol:
PJFT: June o6 - 9.07
PRMC: Passed December 07
RT: February 08
TheWedge

Re: Sorry, had to get this off my chest

Post by TheWedge »

foxtrotgolf wrote:I hate my crappy farking job. There is someone at the office who went around asking for sponsorship to do a 3 mile run for charity last week.
"Phew, a whole 3 miles?" says I,
"How long does that normally take you?"
"well, last year I did it in 43 minutes" :o
I declined to give them any coin whatsoever.
I am on your side here, only because I know that 3 miles in 43 mins is only slightly quicker than walking, if a human is barely breaking walking speed for charity then I really think they could put some more effort in. I went to my Uni sports centre today and saw an advert for a sponsored charity walk for cancer relief, check out the details: