Share This Page:

A question...

General Military Chat. New to the forums? Introduce yourself, Who are you and where are you from?
pt2020

A question...

Post by pt2020 »

Hi All,

I am not a military person, I work in the hospitality industry, however I am very interested in the opinions of military personnel with regards an issue that has cropped up regularly over the years during hospitality industry training sessions.

The following is a transcript from a bartender training session I recently attended:

"We live in changing times… The perfect bartender? Someone with skills or hospitality? – Bartending is like the army, this is combat! Most bartenders are like soldiers, you train them. You tell them what to do, but not why… Some are officers, the talented ones are generals. In the old days there wasn’t much choice in liquor and hasty clients. Nowadays, young bartenders are dealing with lots of different liquors and clients who are in a hurry. These new bartenders should actually be trained like Special Forces, skilled in every aspect of bartending."

I have encountered this kind of analogy many times - likening hospitality staff to 'combat' soldiers - and it has always seemed to me to be a rather glib, easy analogy and rather disrespectful to what soldiers actually encounter during combat.

I would be very interested to hear the thoughts of personnel with experience of the armed forces and combat, and what their view is of this kind of analogy being made. Believe me I have heard this kind of thing many many times and never quite felt comfortable with it.

I welcome your thoughts, and many thanks for your time.

Best,

Nick
MSI64

Re: A question...

Post by MSI64 »

Its an easy analogy to use, as it make the people you are training feel special. And it also lets you put your ideas in simple terms soldiers/officers/generals.