Share This Page:

Boxing Training?

General Military Chat. New to the forums? Introduce yourself, Who are you and where are you from?
Wee Jock

Boxing Training?

Post by Wee Jock »

Hey all,

Im a university student (just finishing 1st year) with an interest in joining the marines after I finish. It's a four year course, so I won't be attempting c@#t maybe the summer of my third year. Anyhoo, what I'm really after is some advice on training towards this (despite being 2 years away) and building a solid base on which to work on.

I've taken up boxing this year in order to build up some fitness, which I do 3 times a week (about an hour and a half each session). Along with this I'm doing a mixture of 3 and 6 mile runs (ideally twice a week), or replacing them with some weights sessions (primarily geared towards rugby, since most of my mates seem to play it). Boxing training involves a fair amount of shadow boxing, quick circuits (Upper Body:press-ups, hyperextensions, and squat thrusts in sets of varying numbers, Lower Body: different abdominal exercises) and technique, finished off with some pad work.

My problem is that, although I do enjoy boxing, it is just a means to an end, rather than an end in itself. Would it be worth replacing this setup with something more appropriate (maybe next year), like triathlon, or even just concentrating more on the weights for next year to build up my upper body strength. At 5'7 and about 63kg, this is my main fear, since the boxing training seems to burn off as much muscle as I'm ever able to put on.

Any help would be much appreciated,
pablo

Post by pablo »

Ideally, you'll want to be gaining CV and core fitness over lifting strength. If you're doing weights, perhaps just stay light and go for higher reps. It's been said around the forums that the best thing you can do to prepare yourself for POC/PRMC is circuits instead of weights. I do both (weight lifting as a hobby, circuits for fitness).